The Speaker is one of the top officials of the state who represents the Saeima, chairs and maintains order during the plenary sittings, as well as ensures that the sitting is held in accordance with the Rules of Procedure.


The Constitution of Latvia is the supreme law of the Republic of Latvia.

Rules of Procedure

The law setting forth the internal rules and work procedures of the Saeima.


The work of the Saeima is supervised by its Presidium, which is elected by each new convocation of the Saeima at the beginning of its term of office. The Presidium consists of five MPs: the Speaker, two Deputy Speakers, the Secretary and the Deputy Secretary.  

Members of parliament

A member of parliament is one of the hundred representatives of the people who is elected in general, equal, direct elections, by secret ballot, and on the basis of proportional representation. 

Parliamentary groups

At least five members of the same candidate list may form a parliamentary group. Members elected from the same candidate list may form only one parliamentary group and may not join another parliamentary group.


Committees work in a specific field or carry out other tasks; for example, they verify whether public expenditures are justified, decide whether the Code of Ethics has been violated, or coordinate Latvia’s national positions on European Union issues.

In accordance with the Rules of Procedure, the Saeima currently has 16 standing committees. 

Committees home page

Citizenship, Migration and Social Cohesion Committee home page

Parliamentary inquiry committees

The Saeima may appoint a parliamentary inquiry committee from among members of parliament in order to undertake specific assignments. A request by at least one-third of MPs is necessary for its appointment.

Permanent delegations

The Saeima is a member of international parliamentary organisations. MPs are involved in the work of several international organisations.


MPs may join together and form groups for promoting cooperation with parliaments of other countries or for expressing some other interests related to their work.

Weekly schedule

The work of the Saeima is divided into sessions. In the course of one year, there are three regular sessions of the Saeima – autumn, winter and spring sessions. Extraordinary sessions may be convened at any time during the recess between regular sessions.

Regular plenary sittings are usually held once a week on Thursdays. Committee meetings are usually held on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays.

Piektdien, 30.septembrī
09:00  Eiropas lietu komisijas sēde