Saeima applies a zero VAT rate to COVID-19 vaccines


On Thursday, 7 January, the Saeima adopted in the final reading urgent amendments to the Value Added Tax Law, introducing a zero value added tax (VAT) rate to COVID-19 vaccines.

The zero VAT rate will be applied to COVID-19 vaccines registered in accordance with the regulations governing the pharmaceutical industry, as well as to medical devices designed for in vitro diagnostics of COVID-19, including tests and testing equipment, which comply with the requirements of the European Union (EU).

A zero VAT rate will be also applied to services closely tied to the vaccines and medical devices, such as transportation, storage, and security services.

The Law was amended to effectively adopt the EU Directive regarding temporary measures in relation to VAT applicable to COVID-19 vaccines and in vitro diagnostic medical devices in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. According to the explanatory note to the amendments, this will provide access to the vaccines and jump-start vaccination of the population as soon as possible, and at a reasonable cost. 

Since the first COVID-19 vaccines arrived to Latvia at the end of December last year, the zero VAT rate to COVID-19 vaccines, medical diagnostic devices and closely related services is applied as of 25 December 2020 until 31 December 2022.

Amendments to the Value Added Tax Law will enter into force on the next day following their promulgation.


Saeima Press Service

Otrdien, 19.janvārī
08:30  Juridiskās komisijas Krimināltiesību politikas apakškomisijas sēde
08:30  Mandātu, ētikas un iesniegumu komisijas sēde
09:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas Finanšu sektora uzraudzības apakškomisijas sēde
10:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
12:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas Augstākās izglītības, zinātnes un inovāciju apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
13:00  Administratīvi teritoriālās reformas komisijas sēde
13:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas Visaptverošas valsts aizsardzības apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde (turpinājums)