NATO PA presidential candidates will be nominated during the NATO PA Session in Riga


During the Riga Session of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (PA), presidential candidates of this interparliamentary organisation will be nominated. 

NATO PA presidential candidates must be nominated in writing by three or more members or alternate members of NATO PA delegations. Candidates must be members or alternate members of the PA. They are approved by the NATO PA Standing Committee.

The President shall be elected for a year’s term by member state delegations during the annual session in autumn. The President may be re-elected for one more year.

The incumbent NATO PA President, U.S. Congressman John Tanner, was elected on 18 November 2008 during the Annual Session in Valencia, Spain, and re-elected on 17 November 2009 during the Annual Session in Edinburgh, the UK.

The NATO Parliamentary Assembly is a consultative interparliamentary organisation founded in 1955 which unites parliamentarians from member states of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation. The NATO PA provides an essential link between NATO and parliaments of the NATO member states in helping to build parliamentary and public consensus in support of Alliance policies.

For more information on the NATO PA and its Spring Session, please visit the website of the 2010 Spring Session of the NATO PA at the official website of the Alliance at

The NATO PA Spring Session will be held in Riga, Latvia, from 28 May to 1 June 2010.

Press Service
of the Public Relations Department
of the Parliament of Latvia
Phone.: +371 67087218
Mobile phone.: +371 261 36160 


Piektdien, 19.aprīlī
09:00  Saeimas 2024.gada 19.aprīļa ārkārtas sēde