High foreign officials will address the NATO Parliamentary Assembly in Riga


During the Spring Session of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (PA) in Riga, Latvia, several high foreign officials will address the plenary session. 

NATO PA President, U.S. Congressman John Tanner, and Mr. Anders Fogh Rasmussen, NATO Secretary General, plan to address participants of the plenary session of the NATO PA Riga Session on 1 June. 

Latvian high officials will be represented by Mr. Gundars Daudze, Speaker of the Latvian Saeima, and Mr. Valdis Dombrovskis, Latvian Prime Minister, who will also give their addresses at the plenary session.

The NATO PA 2010 Spring Session in Riga will be held from 28 May to 1 June 2010. Before the plenary session of 1 June, parliamentarians of the NATO member states and associate countries will work in NATO PA committees.

The NATO PA has five committees: Defence and Security Committee, Committee on the Civil Dimension of Security, Committee on Economics and Security, Political Committee, and Science and Technology Committee. They review reports on topical problems in their relevant areas and solve issues pertaining to transatlantic security.

The NATO Parliamentary Assembly is a consultative interparliamentary organisation founded in 1955 which unites parliamentarians from member states of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation. The NATO PA provides an essential link between NATO and parliaments of the NATO member states in helping to build parliamentary and public consensus in support of Alliance policies.

For more information please visit the website of the 2010 Spring Session of the NATO PA at www.natopariga.lv or the official website of the NATO PA atwww.nato-pa.int


Press Service
of the Public Relations Department
of the Parliament of Latvia
Phone.: +371 67087218
Mobile phone.: +371 261 36160 
E-mail: prese@saeima.lv


Ceturtdien, 30.maijā
09:00  Saeimas 2024.gada 30.maija kārtējā sēde
17:00  2024.gada 30.maija atbilžu sniegšana uz deputātu jautājumiem - atcelta