Members of the Saeima

A Member of the Saeima is one of the hundred representatives of the people elected for a term of four years. The 13th Saeima started its work on 6 November 2018.
The Saeima rules on the mandate of each Member after they have taken the solemn oath.


Speaker of the Saeima

Ināra Mūrniece represents the National Alliance "All For Latvia!" – "For Fatherland and Freedom/LNNK", and she was elected in the 11th, 12th and 13th convocation of the Saeima.

More →  

The Presidium 

The work of the Saeima is supervised by its Presidium, which consists of five MPs: the Speaker, two Deputy Speakers, the Secretary, and the Deputy Secretary.


Committees and subcommittees

The committees of the Saeima have an important role in the work of the Parliament. The committees work in a specific legislative field and prepare draft laws for consideration in the plenary sittings of the Saeima. They also carry out parliamentary scrutiny over the work of the government. Committees may have other tasks, for example, they verify whether public expenditures are justified, decide whether the Code of Ethics has been violated, or coordinate Latvia’s national positions on European Union issues.


Parliamentary groups

Parliamentary groups provide the political structure of the composition of the Saeima. Members elected from the same candidate list form parliamentary groups.



Latvia is a member of several international interparliamentary organisations. The work of MPs in these organisations helps develop Latvia’s foreign policy and represent the interests of our country. Members of delegations are elected by a vote of the Saeima.



MPs may join together and form groups for promoting cooperation with parliaments of other countries or for expressing some other interests related to their work. Such groups help strengthen interparliamentary cooperation and promote the interests of Latvia.



Organisational chart

Structure of the Saeima (.pdf)

Svētdien, 19.maijā