Dagmāra Beitnere-Le Galla to Ambassador of Estonia: Latvia and Estonia share a common history and values


“Latvia and Estonia share a common history and similar values and interests. We need to continue moving forward together and keep strengthening the cooperation of our countries,” said Dagmāra Beitnere‑Le Galla, Deputy Speaker of the Saeima, on Thursday, 21 July, during the meeting with Arti Hilpus, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Estonia to the Republic of Latvia. The Ambassador came to the Parliament to pay a farewell visit.

Beitnere-Le Galla stressed the importance of concerted action among neighbouring countries, both during the COVID‑19 pandemic as well as in the current geopolitical situation. Both parties agreed that energy independence and energy security are among the top priorities of the region at the moment.

The Deputy Speaker of the Saeima underlined the active role of the Baltic Assembly in strengthening regional cooperation and promoting the development of infrastructure projects. In addition, both parties highlighted the need for coordinated decision making to promote the sourcing of green energy as well as closer cooperation in science.

Beitnere-Le Galla thanked the Ambassador for his contribution to strengthening the bilateral relations of Estonia and Latvia. The Deputy Speaker of the Saeima acknowledged the successful cooperation of the two countries, their active parliamentary dialogue, and mutual support during the Ambassador’s service.

Discussing the future of bilateral Latvian-Estonian cooperation, Beitnere‑Le Galla expressed hope that the joint meeting of the governments of the two countries, which might take place in 2023, could help set the areas and targets for an even closer cooperation between Latvia and Estonia.


Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/saeima/albums/72177720300701512
Disclaimer and copyright: https://www.saeima.lv/en/copyright



Saeima Press Service

Piektdien, 2.jūnijā
09:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas Uzņēmējdarbības attīstības apakškomisijas sēde
09:00  Eiropas lietu komisijas sēde