Speaker of the Saeima: opening of the UAE Embassy in Latvia would lead to new opportunities for cooperation


While visiting the United Arab Emirates, Ināra Mūrniece, Speaker of the Saeima, met with the first residing Ambassador of the UAE to Latvia, Hanan Halfan Olbaid al Madani. The ambassador is expected to arrive in Latvia in January 2017.

The Speaker of the Saeima and the newly-appointed ambassador agreed that the opening of the UAE Embassy in Riga would lead to new opportunities for cooperation, especially in trade.

Ināra Mūrniece assured the incoming UAE ambassador of the Saeima’s readiness to deepen parliamentary cooperation and reminded that an interparliamentary group for relations with UAE was established by the Latvian parliament already in 2015.

While in the UAE, the Speaker of the Saeima visited the Latvian Embassy in Abu Dhabi which opened in 2014 and was officially inaugurated in June of 2015. Rūdolfs Brēmanis, Chargé d'Affaires at the Embassy, briefed the Speaker of the Saeima on key aspects of bilateral relations.

The Speaker’s visit to the UAE included meetings with Latvian diaspora and students of the New York University Abu Dhabi branch. Ināra Mūrniece praised the efforts of the Latvian community in promoting Latvian culture and traditions abroad.

During her visit to the United Arab Emirates from 11 to 14 December, the Speaker of the Saeima met with several officials of the country and upon invitation of Amal Al Qubaisi, President of the Federal National Council, took part in the 11th Global Summit of Women Speakers of Parliament.



Saeima Press Service

Trešdien, 21.oktobrī
08:30  Eiropas lietu komisijas sēde
09:30  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Ārlietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
10:15  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
12:00  Mandātu, ētikas un iesniegumu komisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
12:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas sēde
12:00  Pilsonības, migrācijas un sabiedrības saliedētības komisijas sēde
12:00  Ilgtspējīgas attīstības komisijas sēde
14:45  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde (turpinājums)
15:30  Administratīvi teritoriālās reformas komisijas sēde (turpinājums)