Press releases

At the Baltic Assembly Session held on Friday, 22 October, the Chairperson of the BA Social Affairs Committee, Silva Bendrāte, emphasised that the Baltic States need closer integration in several health care areas, and that can be achieved by implementing specific joint cross-border projects.
On 22 October the Baltic Assembly in its 29th Session adopted a Resolution stating that governments of the Baltic States should intensify coordination of taxation policy and entrepreneurship-related regulations in Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, for instance, to develop similar tax systems in all three countries. 
Latvian, Lithuanian and Estonian parliamentarians and government representatives note with satisfaction the signs of economic stabilisation in the Baltic States and urge consistent strengthening of cooperation of the Baltic States in the area of economy and finance. Such an opinion was voiced in the Joint Statement of the Baltic Council which was officially signed on Friday, 22 October, at the Saeima. 
On 22 October 2010 the press conference of the 29th Session of the Baltic Assembly took place in the Saeima building. The press conference was attended by Mrs. Ērika Zommere, President of the Baltic Assembly, Mr. Trivimi Velliste, Chairman of the Estonian delegation, Mr. Paulius Saudargas, Chairman of the Lithuanian delegation, as well as Mr. Aivis Ronis, Latvian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Urmas Paet, Estonian Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Mr. Egidijus Meilūnas, Lithuanian Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs.
On Thursday, 21 October, the official ceremony for awarding commemorative medals of the Baltic Assembly (BA) will take place as part of the 29th Session of the Baltic Assembly. 
On 21 – 22 October, the 29th Session of the Baltic Assembly (BA) will be held in the Saeima of the Republic of Latvia. During the Session, parliamentarians will discuss joint health-care projects and challenges to public safety. Furthermore, as part of the Session the BA prizes for literature, the arts, and science, as well as the BA medals for contributions in strengthening the unity of the Baltic States, will be awarded.
On Friday, 22 October, the annual Baltic Assembly (BA) Prizes for Literature, the Arts and Science were awarded. The Prize for Science was awarded to academician Jānis Stradiņš (Latvia), the Prize for the Arts to artist and sculptor Antanas Žukauskas (Lithuania), and the Prize for Literature to poet and prose writer Ene Mihkelson (Estonia). The Prizes were awarded  in Riga as part of the 29th Session of the Baltic Assembly. 
On Thursday, 14 October, the European Affairs Committee of the Saeima assessed the draft directive of the European Union regarding the residential conditions of seasonal workers and requested the Council and the European Parliament in their further discussions to specify the provisions of the new legislative act so that it fully complies with the principle of proportionality. 
On Thursday, 14 October, the Saeima decided that the service of soldiers from the Latvian National Armed Forces in the NATO-led International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) mission in Afghanistan will be extended for another year.
On Friday, 24 September, the Joint Judging Committee convened in the Saeima to evaluate nominees and decided to award the Prize for Science to Jānis Stradiņš, the Prize for the Arts to Antanas Žukauskas, an artist and sculptor from Lithuania, and the Prize for Literature to Ene Mihkelson, a poet and prose writer from Estonia.
Otrdien, 5.martā
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
13:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas Iekšējās drošības apakškomisijas sēde
13:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Sabiedrības veselības apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas Latgales apakškomisijas sēde