Latvia introduces eID card for foreigners


On Thursday, 17 June, the Saeima adopted in the final reading urgent amendments to the Personal Identification Documents Law, which provide for a personal identification, or eID, card for foreigners to be introduced in Latvia.

As outlined in the explanatory note to the amendments, the eID card will allow foreigners to access government e‑services, use an e‑address, verify their identity and sign documents electronically, serving as a gateway to a wide range of public administration services offered by Latvia.

Personal identification cards will be issued to foreign nationals, including asylum seekers, included in the Register of Natural Persons.

A foreigner’s eID card will not be a mandatory personal identification document. A state fee of EUR 80 must be paid for the issuing of a foreigner’s personal identification card. According to the explanatory note, the Office of Citizenship and Migration Affairs estimates that approximately two thousand eID cards will be issued to foreign nationals each year. A foreigner’s personal identity card is not a valid travel document.

The amendments stipulate that applications for a foreigner’s eID card may also be submitted to those Latvia’s representations outside the Schengen Area where the technical requirements for offering the service are met.

The amendments will come into effect on 28 June 2021.


Saeima Press Service

Trešdien, 21.februārī
09:00  Pieprasījumu komisijas sēde
10:00  Ārlietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
10:15  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
12:00  Mandātu, ētikas un iesniegumu komisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
12:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas sēde
12:00  Pilsonības, migrācijas un sabiedrības saliedētības komisijas sēde
12:00  Ilgtspējīgas attīstības komisijas sēde
15:30  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas Mediju politikas apakškomisijas sēde