The Saeima Chairman and the U.S. Ambassador look back at the NATO PA Riga Session


The Riga Session of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly (PA) was a high-level event with regard to both organisation and content, confirmed Ms. Judith Garber, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States to the Republic of Latvia, when meeting Mr. Gundars Daudze, Chairman of the Saeima, on Tuesday, 8 June.

Regarding the NATO PA Spring Session, the Ambassador, on behalf of the U.S. delegation, expressed gratitude to Latvia for hosting it. “The Riga Session was organised excellently. Our delegation was very satisfied with participation in this event,” she declared.

Mr. Daudze appreciated the opportunity offered by the Parliamentary Assembly to discuss vital regional and global policy issues with U.S. Democratic Congressman John Tanner, President of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly. 

“We highly value the participation of the U.S. Congress delegation in the Parliamentary Assembly in Riga. I am truly gratified by so many positive comments about the event in whose organisation we invested considerable effort,” acknowledged Gundars Daudze.

The Saeima Chairman and the Ambassador also discussed the working visit to the U.S. by the chairmen of the Baltic and Nordic parliaments, who visited the U.S. Congress and met influential U.S. officials, including Ms. Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Mr. Daudze stressed: “This visit confirmed the good level of parliamentary cooperation between the Baltic and the Nordic countries, as well as the high degree of importance that our region’s countries attach to shaping transatlantic relations with the United States.”

Photos from the meeting:
Video from the meeting:
For public use of any material, please give credit to the Saeima Chancellery

Press Service
of the Public Relations Department
of the Parliament of Latvia
Phone.: +371 67087218
Mobile phone.: +371 261 36160 

Otrdien, 5.martā
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
13:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas Iekšējās drošības apakškomisijas sēde
13:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Sabiedrības veselības apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas Latgales apakškomisijas sēde