Student internship programmes

International parliamentary internship (Internationales Parlaments-Stipendium

The German Bundestag, in cooperation with the Humboldt University of Berlin, has been implementing the International Parliamentary Scholarship programme since 1986 by annually offering internship opportunities to approximately 120 students from all around the world. Twenty-eight countries participate in the programme, including several countries which offer internship opportunities for German students in their own parliaments. Latvian students have had the opportunity to do internship at the German parliament since 1992.

The goal of the International Parliamentary Scholarship is to strengthen partnership and cooperation between Germany and countries represented by participants of the programme. The Scholarship is aimed at highly qualified, energetic and open youths who are interested in politics and who desire actively and with a great sense of responsibility to shape the political future of their country. The German Bundestag offers a 15-week placement at an office of a member of the Bundestag and thus provides an opportunity to get acquainted with the parliamentary system and political decision making in Germany, as well as to acquire practical experience in parliamentary work. In order to apply for the Scholarship, follow the updates on the website of the Embassy of Germany in the Republic of Latvia:

More information on the internship in the Bundestag is available at: The International Parliamentary Scholarship programme provides graduates of Latvian universities with an opportunity to learn more about the work of the German Bundestag and public life in Germany by taking part in the work of MPs’ offices. The rules of the German parliament require Latvian applicants for the International Parliamentary Scholarship to be Latvian citizens under the age of 30, have a good command of the German language and hold a university degree.

EU member states are interested in creating exchange programmes that enable students to learn about the political experience of other countries and expand their language skills. Since 2010, the Saeima has been offering a counterpart programme for German students who wish to gain an insight into the work of the Latvian Parliament. This programme gives an opportunity for German youths to learn about the democratic and parliamentary experience in Latvia, and it promotes recognition of Latvia and its policies in Germany.

From 29 August to 27 September 2019, students Anna Steinmeier and Maria Beilmann from Germany completed an internship in the Saeima within the programme, which was organised already for the eighth time. The two students learned about the work of the Saeima MPs as interns of Deputy Secretary of the Saeima Marija Golubeva (“Development/For!” parliamentary group) and Linda Ozola (New Conservatives’ parliamentary group), who are both members of the Group for promoting cooperation with the Parliament of Germany. In addition to the internship at the Saeima, the students attended lectures at the University of Latvia.

To promote the German students’ engagement in the committee and parliamentary group meetings, two interns, students Ilze Donova and Rolands Molņiks from Ventspils University of Applied Sciences, provided interpreting services in Latvian and German during the meetings.

The Presidium of the Saeima supported the proposal of the Group for promoting cooperation with the Parliament of Germany to organise a similar internship in the Saeima in September 2020. Due to the spread of Covid-19, a decision was made to cancel the 2020 internship. The same decision was also made by the German Bundestag.

Otrdien, 2.martā
08:30  Ilgtspējīgas attīstības komisijas E-pārvaldības apakškomisijas sēde
08:30  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas Sporta apakškomisijas sēde
08:30  Juridiskās komisijas Krimināltiesību politikas apakškomisijas sēde
10:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
10:35  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
12:10  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas Augstākās izglītības, zinātnes un inovāciju apakškomisijas sēde
13:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde