

National Security Committee

After the restoration of Latvia's independence, the newly-elected 5th Saeima set up the National Security Committee (hereinafter–Committee), along with other parliamentary committees, on 15 July 1993.

The Committee supervises and exercises parliamentary scrutiny over national security agencies. There are three such agencies established in the National Security Law: the Constitution Protection Bureau, the Defence Intelligence and Security Service, and the State Security Service. The Chair of the Committee is a member of the National Security Council.

The responsibilities and rights of the Committee, as defined in special laws, are as follows:

• to assess and approve draft budgets of national security agencies;

- to exercise parliamentary scrutiny of the activities of the national security agencies and their use of budget funds;
- to hear reports by the Cabinet of Ministers and the heads of the national security agencies about the work of the national security agencies, as well as to review the results of the performance assessment of the agencies;
- to consider proposals for the approval to office or dismissal of the Director of the Constitution Protection Bureau;
- to examine the National Security Plan following its elaboration and approval by the Cabinet of Ministers;
- to hear reports and overviews by the heads of the national security agencies, as well as to review working documents



Ainars Latkovskis, Chair of the Committee

and information of the agencies, except documents on sources of confidential information.

Currently, each parliamentary group of the Saeima is represented in the Committee by one member. The Committee Chair is Ainars Latkovskis (NEW UNITY) and Deputy Chair is Jānis Dombrava (National Alliance) and Secretary is Edvards Smiltēns (UNITED LIST).

MPs that have been elected to the Committee must obtain the first-level security clearance to access state secrets and they must obtain a certificate necessary for working with EU and NATO documents.

Upon the decision of the Committee members, the meetings of the Committee are closed and classified.

Contact information

Address: Jēkaba iela 11, Rīga, LV-1811, Latvia Phone: +371 6708 7251, +371 6708 7009 E-mail: drosibas.komisija@saeima.lv

Chairs of the National Security Committee

Convocation	Name	Tenure
5 th Saeima	Andrejs Panteļējevs	21.07.1993-06.11.1995
6 th Saeima	Odisejs Kostanda	16.11.1995-24.01.1996
	Andrejs Panteļējevs	01.02.1996-02.11.1998
7 th Saeima	Andrejs Panteļējevs	12.11.1998-04.11.2002
8 th Saeima	Vilis Krištopans	15.11.2002-30.09.2004
	Jānis Šmits	30.09.2004-27.01.2005
	Indulis Emsis	27.01.2005-06.11.2006
9 th Saeima	Dzintars Jaundžeikars	20.11.2006-26.03.2009
	Māris Kučinskis	08.04.2009-24.05.2010
	Dzintars Jaundžeikars	24.05.2010-02.11.2010
10 th Saeima	Gundars Daudze	08.11.2010-04.08.2011
11 th Saeima	Valdis Zatlers	24.10.2011-04.11.2014
12 th Saeima	Solvita Āboltiņa	06.11.2014-11.01.2018
	Inese Lībiņa-Egnere	17.01.2018-06.11.2018
13 th Saeima	Māris Kučinskis	21.11.2018-16.06.2022
14 th Saeima	Ināra Mūrniece	24.11.2022-15.12.2022
	Jānis Dombrava	21.12.2022-05.10.2023
	Ainars Latkovskis	Since 05.10.2023