

Legal Affairs Committee

The Legal Affairs Committee (hereinafter–Committee) is one of the legislative standing committees established pursuant to Article 149 of the Rules of Procedure of the Saeima.

Structure of the Committee

The setup of the Committee is determined by the Saeima. The number of Committee members from each parliamentary group is proportional to the number of its seats in the Saeima. Currently, the Committee is composed of 10 MPs. It is chaired by Andrejs Judins, with Edmunds Teirumnieks serving as Deputy Chair and Edgars Zelderis as Secretary. The current composition of the Committee is available on the Saeima website at *www.saeima.lv*.

Work of the Committee

Upon the decision of the Saeima, the Committee considers draft laws assigned to the Committee, in accordance with Article 65 of the Constitution of Latvia, by the President of Latvia, the Cabinet of Ministers, Saeima committees, including the Legal Affairs Committee itself, or at least five MPs, as well as one-tenth of the electorate according to the procedure prescribed in the Constitution.



Andrejs Judins, Chair of the Committee

Legislative functions of the Committee include:

· preparation of draft laws for which the Committee has been designated as the responsible committee for consideration by the Saeima. The Committee works mainly with draft laws pertaining to the legal sector that regulate the work of the judicial system, the substantive and procedural legal provisions, as well as determine the work of bailiffs, notaries public and lawyers. The Committee also considers draft laws regarding the disposal of immovable property to meet the needs of the public, as well as amendments proposed for the Rules of Procedure of the Saeima and the fundamental law of Latvia-the Constitution;

• interviewing candidates for the position of judge at all levels, members of the Council of the State Audit Office, ►

Chairs of the Legal Affairs Committee

Convocation	Name	Tenure
5 th Saeima	Aivars Endziņš	26.07.1993-06.11.1995
6 th Saeima	Juris Kaksītis	16.11.1995-02.11.1998
7 th Saeima	Linards Muciņš	12.11.1998-04.11.2002
8 th Saeima	Solvita Āboltiņa	15.11.2002-18.03.2004
	Mareks Segliņš	18.03.2004-06.11.2006
9 th Saeima	Mareks Segliņš	17.11.2006-24.01.2008
	Vjačeslavs Stepaņenko	15.01.2008-13.03.2008
	Vineta Muižniece	13.03.2008-25.05.2010
10 th Saeima	Ilma Čepāne	08.11.2010-17.10.2011
11 th Saeima	Ilma Čepāne	20.10.2011-04.11.2014
12 th Saeima	Gaidis Bērziņš	06.11.2014-06.11.2018
13 th Saeima	Jānis Bordāns	20.11.2018-30.01.2019
	Juta Strīķe	30.01.2019-18.03.2020
	Juris Jurašs	03.04.2020-22.03.2022
	Jānis Butāns	22.03.2022-01.11.2022
14 th Saeima	Andrejs Judins	Since 23.11.2022



Interesting facts

• At different times, the Committee was chaired by former justices of the Constitutional Court (Aivars Endziņš, Ilma Čepāne, and Vineta Muižniece).

• During the 12th Saeima and currently during the 14th Saeima, Gunārs Kūtris, former President of the Constitutional Court, is one of the members of the Committee.

the chair and members of the commission of the Central Election Office, and preparing and forwarding for adoption by the Saeima draft resolutions on their appointment, confirmation, and removal from office;

• reviewing and responding to submissions by private and legal entities within the scope of its competence.

The Committee exercises parliamentary scrutiny by constantly monitoring the work of the executive power, requesting the necessary information on current issues from ministers and institutions under their supervision, as well as from the Judicial Council. In order to efficiently deal with issues that are within its competence, the Committee invites officials and sectoral experts to take part in its meetings and hears their reports and opinions. Prior to the adoption of the annual state budget, the Committee hears the information presented by the Minister for Justice, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Prosecutor General, and the Auditor General on the financial situation of the relevant institution, as well as its accomplishments and planned activities. If necessary, the Committee also assists in obtaining budgetary funds.

When considering draft laws during its meetings, the Committee hears the opinions provided not only by the representatives of public administration institutions, but also sectoral experts and representatives of trade unions, NGOs, associations, and foundations.

During its visiting meetings, members of the Committee learn about the current situation in public institutions.

When preparing draft laws and solving issues of public importance, the Committee often encounters issues that are within the scope of competence of other parliamentary committees; therefore, the Committee organises joint meetings with other committees of the Saeima.

Meeting of the Legal Affairs Committee

Subcommittees

According to Article 155 of the Rules of Procedure of the Saeima, the Committee may establish two subcommittees to fulfil specific tasks or to perform certain preparatory work.

The Committee has established the Constitutional and Judicial Policy Subcommittee and the Criminal Justice and Sentencing Policy Subcommittee, which will continue the work commenced during the 13th Saeima regarding criminal justice and sentencing policy issues, as well as national law and constitutional issues concerning the improvement of the judicial system.

If necessary, the Committee may establish ad hoc working groups for the preparation of proposals for specific draft laws. Such working groups are composed of representatives from all parliamentary groups of the Saeima, experts from the relevant line ministries, representatives of public organisations, as well as sectoral experts.

> **Contact information**

Address: Jēkaba iela 11, Rīga, LV-1811, Latvia Phone: +371 6708 7152 E-mail: juridiska.komisija@saeima.lv