

■ Meeting of the European Affairs Committee

European Affairs Committee

The European Affairs Committee (hereinafter—Committee) was established in November 1995, when the government of Latvia submitted its application for accession to the EU to Spain, which was the presiding country of the Council of the European Union at the time. Back then, the task of the Committee was to oversee harmonisation of national laws with the EU legislation. In 2001, the Committee was authorised to represent the Saeima on EU-related matters.

The role of the Committee changed when Latvia became a full-fledged member of the EU on 1 May 2004. Since then, the Committee's work has focused on examining and approving national positions before communicating them to the Council of the EU, monitoring of the absorption of the EU funds, closer involvement of non-governmental organisations and civil society in the EU legislative processes, as well as cooperation with the European Affairs Committees of the parliaments of the EU Member States and candidate countries.

Following the entry into force of the Treaty of Lisbon, the Committee is also tasked

with the evaluation of the EU draft legislative acts and, if necessary, expressing the opinion of the Saeima on compliance with the principle of subsidiarity in the new draft legislative acts of the EU.

Composition of the Committee

The European Affairs Committee has always been one of the largest committees of the Saeima. According to the Rules of Procedure, each parliamentary group must nominate at least one of its MPs to the Committee. The number of MPs representing each parliamentary group is proportional to the number of seats it has in the Saeima. The administrative work of the Committee is carried out by the Committee's consultants and the specialised attaché of the Saeima in the Latvian representation to the EU.

Approving national positions

The Committee approves national positions prepared by the government. When important legislative initiatives or strategic issues are considered, the minister who will represent Latvia at the relevant



■ Edmunds Cepurītis, Chair of the Committee

Council of the European Union must first present the position prepared by the government to the Committee.

The minister is authorised by the parliament to present Latvia's opinion at the Council meeting only after the position is coordinated with the Committee. If the Committee rejects the position approved by the government, the relevant ministry must amend the position in accordance with the recommendations of the Committee before presenting it to the Council.

How can I follow the work of the Committee?

Committee meeting agendas, publicly available documents and press releases are available on the Saeima website. Most Committee meetings are open to the public. To attend a Committee meeting, please contact the Committee using the contact details provided below.



Contact information

Address: Jēkaba iela 6/8, Rīga, LV-1811, Latvia Phone: +371 6708 7324 E-mail: eiropas.komisija@saeima.lv

Chairs of the European Affairs Committee

Convocation	Name	Tenure
6 th Saeima	Māris Gailis	16.11.1995-08.02.1996
	Anatolijs Gorbunovs	08.02.1996-08.08.1996
	Edvīns Inkēns	30.09.1996-02.11.1998
7 th Saeima	Edvīns Inkēns	12.11.1998-04.11.2002
8 th Saeima	Guntars Krasts	21.11.2002-21.07.2004
	Oskars Kastēns	12.08.2004-06.11.2006
9 th Saeima	Vaira Paegle	16.11.2006-02.11.2010
10 th Saeima	Imants Viesturs Lieģis	04.11.2010-17.10.2011
11 th Saeima	Zanda Kalniņa-Lukaševica	20.10.2011-03.11.2014
12 th Saeima	Lolita Čigāne	06.11.2014-05.11.2018
13 th Saeima	Vita Anda Tērauda	20.11.2018-27.05.2022
	Marija Golubeva	27.05.2022-01.11.2022
14 th Saeima	Andris Sprūds	24.11.2022-20.09.2023
	Edmunds Cepurītis	Since 27.09.2023