Duration of the unemployment assistance benefit scheme extended until 30 June


On Monday, 21 December, the Saeima adopted in the final reading urgent amendments to the Law on Unemployment Insurance, extending the duration of granting and paying unemployment assistance benefits until 30 June 2021. The benefits are awarded to persons who have stopped receiving unemployment benefits but have not found a job and do not perform any economic activity. The monthly amount of the benefit is 180 euros, and a person may receive it for four months.

Additionally, for unemployed persons who have resigned from work or service on their own accord, the term of granting unemployment benefits is extended until 30 June 2021, starting from the day when the person has submitted an application for receiving the unemployment benefit.

According to the explanatory note of the draft law, the amendments are necessary to mitigate the consequences of the economic downturn and to ensure that persons who have been paying unemployment social insurance contributions are eligible for receiving aid in case of unemployment.

The amendments will come into effect on 1 January 2021.

In addition, the Saeima adopted in the final reading urgent amendment to the Support for Unemployed Persons and Persons Seeking Employment Law, which will allow unemployed persons to perform short‑term work whilst preserving their status of an unemployed person.

This option will be available until 31 December 2021.

In light of the consequences of the current crisis and an increase in unemployment, people will have the opportunity to perform short‑term work, such as seasonal agricultural work, without losing their status of an unemployed person. Short‑term work may last up to 120 days and can help provide a source of income for basic necessities and everyday spending.

The amendments will enter into force on the day following their promulgation.


Saeima Press Service

Otrdien, 19.janvārī
08:30  Juridiskās komisijas Krimināltiesību politikas apakškomisijas sēde
08:30  Mandātu, ētikas un iesniegumu komisijas sēde
09:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas Finanšu sektora uzraudzības apakškomisijas sēde
10:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
12:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas Augstākās izglītības, zinātnes un inovāciju apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
13:00  Administratīvi teritoriālās reformas komisijas sēde
13:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas Visaptverošas valsts aizsardzības apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde (turpinājums)