Youth Parliament

The Youth Parliament is a project of the Latvian Parliament that provides young people with an opportunity to present and defend their ideas, while learning about the everyday life of MPs. Young people submit their ideas for elections, go on campaigns, and collect votes in support of their ideas.

The 100 elected members of the Youth Parliament, whose ideas have earned the most votes, gather at the Saeima building for one day to learn about the nature of work of the law-maker through their own experience and address topical issues from the rostrum in front of their peers.

The work of the Youth Parliament mirrors the work of the Saeima, including the participation in committee meetings and plenary sittings.


The 10th Youth Parliament will convene on 21 April 2023 at the Parliament of Latvia.

Members of the Youth Parliament gather for their first sitting in the Saeima Plenary Chamber to approve mandates and compositions of the committees, as well as to give a solemn oath. The sitting is chaired by the Speaker of the Saeima, whereas the four elected members of the Youth Parliament whose ideas have earned the most votes sit in the seats of the Saeima Presidium.


The elected members also draw up four declarations, which are discussed within the committees. Following the committee discussions , the second sitting of the Youth Parliament takes place, during which its members hold debates on the proposals prepared by the committees to further develop the declarations.

In celebration of the ten-year anniversary of the Youth Parliament, the theme of the project is “Latvia chooses democracy”.

Young people are welcome to submit their ideas on one of four topics: democracy, freedom, independence, education. They may also submit their proposals for one of the four draft declarations, which they will be discussing on the day of the sitting from the rostrum of the Saeima.

The sittings of the 10th Youth Parliament will be chaired by Edvards Smiltēns, Speaker of the Saeima, whereas the line committee meetings will be moderated by their respective chairs: Raimonds Bergmanis, Rihards Kols, Andris Sprūds, and Agita Zariņa-Stūre.


Join to take your first steps towards the Parliament of Latvia!


More information on the website of the Youth Parliament:





Youth Parliament on social media: TwitterFacebookYouTube and Flickr.



Discussion of the candidates for the 10th Youth Parliament

9th Youth Parliament

8th Youth Parliament

7th Youth Parliament

6th Youth Parliament

5th Youth Parliament

4th Youth Parliament

3rd Youth Parliament

2nd Youth Parliament

1st Youth Parliament

Ceturtdien, 23.martā
09:00  Saeimas 2023.gada 23.marta kārtējā sēde
12:30  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas sēde
12:30  Nacionālās drošības komisijas sēde
17:00  2023.gada 23.marta atbilžu sniegšana uz deputātu jautājumiem