Speaker Mūrniece: Visit of the Speaker of the Knesset an impetus for closer Latvian – Israeli cooperation


On Monday, 11 September, Ināra Mūrniece, Speaker of the Saeima, met at the Latvian Parliament with Yuli-Yoel Edelstein, Speaker of the Knesset of the State of Israel. During the meeting, Speaker Mūrniece emphasised that this visit serves as an impetus for closer cooperation between Latvia and Israel, including at the level of legislatures.

“It is our pleasure that after a long time, and especially on the eve of our country’s centennial, we can once again welcome to Latvia such a high-level guest from Israel,” Speaker Mūrniece remarked. The last visit of this level took place 14 years ago.

Both speakers of parliament expressed appreciation for the successful parliamentary dialogue at the committee and friendship group level. Considering the current challenges that exist in the information space, Speaker Mūrniece and Speaker Edelstein both expressed interest in cooperating on cybersecurity issues with the involvement of the responsible committees from both parliaments.

During the meeting, the officials discussed economic cooperation, highlighting the steady growth of trade between Latvia and Israel. The Speaker of the Saeima expressed appreciation for the rapidly increasing number of Israeli tourists visiting Latvia.

Speaker Mūrniece also touched upon history and education, noting that people in Latvia are knowledgeable about the tragedy of the Holocaust. The Jewish people are and will always be an intrinsic part of Latvian society.

Both speakers of parliament also discussed development in the Baltic region, as well as in the Middle East.


Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/saeima/albums/72157686483488444
Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_mag1FncvDg
Disclaimer & copyrights: http://saeima.lv/en/copyrights

Saeima Press Service

Otrdien, 26.septembrī
08:30  Juridiskās komisijas Krimināltiesību politikas apakškomisijas sēde
10:00  Juridiskās komisijas sēde
10:00  Cilvēktiesību un sabiedrisko lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Izglītības, kultūras un zinātnes komisijas sēde
10:00  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas un Nacionālās drošības komisijas kopsēde
10:00  Valsts pārvaldes un pašvaldības komisijas sēde
10:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas sēde
10:00  Nacionālās drošības komisijas un Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas kopsēde
11:40  Tautsaimniecības, agrārās, vides un reģionālās politikas komisijas Vides un klimata politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Juridiskās komisijas Tiesu politikas apakškomisijas sēde
12:00  Publisko izdevumu un revīzijas komisijas sēde
13:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Sabiedrības veselības apakškomisijas sēde
13:30  Aizsardzības, iekšlietu un korupcijas novēršanas komisijas Korupcijas novēršanas apakškomisijas sēde
14:00  Sociālo un darba lietu komisijas Nodarbinātības apakškomisijas sēde
15:00  Budžeta un finanšu (nodokļu) komisijas sēde