Saeima approves Māris Kučinskis’ government


On Thursday, 11 February, the Saeima held an extraordinary plenary sitting, during which it approved the new Cabinet of Ministers lead by Māris Kučinskis with 60 votes for and 32 votes against. 

11 ministers from the previous Cabinet of Ministers will continue work in the new government. Eight ministers will remain in the same ministries, while three have been rotated.

Ministers who will continue their work in the same ministries are: Raimonds Bergmanis, Minister of Defence;  Edgars Rinkēvičs, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Rihards Kozlovskis, Minister of the Interior; Dace Melbārde, Minister of Culture;  Dzintars Rasnačs, Minister of Justice;  Guntis Belēvičs, Minister of Health;  Kaspars Gerhards, Minister of Environmental Protection and Regional Development; and Jānis Dūklavs, Minister of Agriculture. 

Arvils Ašeradens has been appointed as Minister of Economics; Dana Reizniece-Ozola – Minister of Finance; Kārlis Šadurskis - Minister of Education and Science; Jānis Reirs - Minister of Welfare; and Uldis Augulis - Minister of Transport. 

This is the 39th Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Latvia. 

The Declaration of the newly approved government is available at:$FILE/DOC002.PDF

Saeima Press Service